Good first-time lager recipe?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Puddlethumper

Reaction score
I've been brewing AG for a couple years now and am finally set up and ready to attempt a lager. Problem is, I've been looking at a whole bunch of lager recipes and haven't found anything that fits the bill for my needs. Hopefully one of our experienced brewers will be able to provide a little guidance.

I'm looking to make something that is light, crisp and refreshing for hot summer days. I would prefer to do something close to typical ale procedures with single temperature mash and batch sparge. I have the capability to control fermentation and lagering temperatures +/- 1F for whatever period is required. 5 gal batch. Moderate IBU's and ABV. I like English beers so a little color isn't a bad thing. The beer will be kegged.

Water here is from my own well and is fairly high in bicarbonate. I can dilute it with RO and/or adjust pH to some extent, but am a little reluctant to attempt to duplicate Pilsen water.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions and insight you might be able to offer.

A Munich Helles might fit the bill. Here's one I have on tap right now:

9# Pilsner malt
.75 Munich malt
.25 Melanoiden malt
Enough acid malt to adjust your pH

Mash @ 151, batch sparge.

22 IBUs Hallertauer (Additions at 60-30-15)

Wyeast 2308 Munich Lager
Primary at 48, lager at 38.

You'll want a clean water profile for light lagers. I'd definitely use at least half RO (I use all RO with little salts).

The old Millerbraü style recipe is a good beer:
(adjusted for 5 gal batches)

7 lb 2 row
1 lb orange blossom (anything non-clove) honey
10g sterling at each: 60 min, 20, 10, and flameout (hopstand 1/2 hour)

I make a light lager with some modern hops:
4 lb pils
3 lb 2 row