Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Window AC in a Fermentation Chiller?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2008, 03:41 AM   #1
effy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Window AC in a Fermentation Chiller?

I am new to home brewing with my first batch still fermenting. I don't have a good place with a steady temperature so I have kept it in my room with a window a/c unit on all day to keep my room at 66. I was wondering if I could possibly make a foam fermenting box and connect my window a/c unit on the inside to control the temperature? Has anybody done this or heard of this being done? Does anybody have any suggestions or problems with this?

Thanks in advance,

Effy

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-01-2008, 03:52 AM   #2
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 607 Times on 376 Posts
Likes Given: 54

See "brew closet" in my signature. It can be done quite successfully.

Old 02-01-2008, 04:11 AM   #3
effy
Recipes 

Thats just what I was looking to do. Thanks for the help.

Old 02-01-2008, 04:18 AM   #4
shafferpilot
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Here's mine.... Admittedly designed only after reading up on the several that are posted around here:

http://homebrewtalk.com/showthread.php?t=41581

A great man knows that he knows NOTHING

Old 02-02-2008, 02:11 PM   #5
abracadabra

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

something to keep in mind:

An A/C unit will produce a lot of heat. So in an enclosed space the room will heat up and the efficiency of the A/C unit will decline drastically.

Old 02-04-2008, 04:31 AM   #6
shafferpilot

Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by abracadabra
something to keep in mind:

An A/C unit will produce a lot of heat. So in an enclosed space the room will heat up and the efficiency of the A/C unit will decline drastically.