Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Please help. Fermentation freezer quit working.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2011, 12:12 AM   #1
telebrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Planet Neptune / San Diego
Posts: 109
Default Please help. Fermentation freezer quit working.

Just finished a brew, threw it in the converted freezer with Ranco control. Set it to 50F to get the brew down to pitching temp. It brought it down to 78F and then just qiut. Not running. It's been warm and I need to have temp control. Can I run my Ranco with my kegerator and use that to ferment in the meantime? Any ideas on what went wrong? Thanks for any ideas.

__________________
telebrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2011, 03:53 AM   #2
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 9,433
Liked 1035 Times on 840 Posts

Default

The Ranco will run anything that doesn't exceed it's current handling ability, and folks run some pretty big keezers on them. So if you want to hook your kegerator up to it, that'll work.

As for the freezer, did you bypass the Ranco just to make sure it isn't the problem?

Cheers!

__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2011, 04:02 AM   #3
telebrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Planet Neptune / San Diego
Posts: 109
Default

Yes, I bypassed it. No worky. I'm hooking it into my kegerator and looking for a new freezer. Thanks.

__________________
telebrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 12:01 AM   #4
beaksnbeer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
beaksnbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New Port Richey, Florida
Posts: 2,824
Liked 485 Times on 323 Posts
Likes Given: 67

Default

Most likely it is just the overload on freezer

__________________
beaksnbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 12:49 AM   #5
telebrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Planet Neptune / San Diego
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beaksnbeer View Post
Most likely it is just the overload on freezer
Does that mean by miracle it will work again just fine? Seems freezers run for years. This is a 2001. Used the last three years as a fermentation temp control with a Ranco controller. So not used that much. I'm hoping for an easy fix/part replacement. Or I'll be looking on Craigslist. Thanks.
__________________
telebrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 01:08 AM   #6
dutchoven
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
dutchoven's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 623
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

What type of freezer? Is it frost free? How long did you leave it plugged in before figuring it was dead? My upright freezer has an auto defrost cycle that runs for approx 30 mins every now and again ... the first time it happened, I thought it died. Also, have you checked and cleaned any coils?

__________________
dutchoven is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 01:50 AM   #7
telebrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Planet Neptune / San Diego
Posts: 109
Default

I believe it is frost free. I'll check when I get home. It was plugged in for about 1.5 hours or so when it quit. Could it go through it's frost free cycle only being plugged in that long? There was a small amount of frost on the inside walls. And by cleaning the coils, do you mean taking the side cover off and cleaning the dust off the inside around the compressor? Thanks.

__________________
telebrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 02:19 AM   #8
dutchoven
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
dutchoven's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 623
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telebrewer View Post
And by cleaning the coils, do you mean taking the side cover off and cleaning the dust off the inside around the compressor? Thanks.
Coils on the outside, if any. Compressor too. A buddy of mine had an ice maker that wasn't freezing; he cleaned the dust/lint off the coils, problem solved.

Did you try the freezer today?
__________________
dutchoven is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 03:50 AM   #9
telebrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Planet Neptune / San Diego
Posts: 109
Default

I'll try the freezer tomorrow when I get home from work. I'll post if it happens to work again after cleaning it too. Thanks.

__________________
telebrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flip top freezer or fermentation box? mreilly Equipment/Sanitation 1 02-21-2011 10:56 PM
Fermentation Freezer + heater gpogo Equipment/Sanitation 9 11-01-2010 05:43 PM
What size freezer for fermentation? Frodo Equipment/Sanitation 6 10-30-2010 10:54 PM
Freezer not working JerD Equipment/Sanitation 4 08-30-2010 10:49 PM
New fermentation freezer Poobah58 Equipment/Sanitation 7 07-06-2010 08:51 PM



Newest Threads