Whirlpool during boil is a struggle...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hwk-I-St8

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to the whole pump/whirlpool scene (two batches that way now), but I've seen the same thing both times. A friend said I should run the pump for about 10-15 minutes at the end of the boil to sanitize the pump.

No big thing, right? Well, what I'm seeing is that I have hard time keeping the pump from running dry. I prime, intake hose is full and even through the pump and half of the outflow hose is full.

When I run the pump, I can see the wort level in the intake hose dropping closer and closer to the pump until it finally cavitates and I have to turn the pump off. If I throttle the outflow, I can keep from having to turn the pump off, but even at pretty low flow levels, I struggle to keep the intake side full of wort.

Then, after I turn off the burner and the boil subsides, I can pump with the outflow valve wide open and it works great.

I'm guessing this is an issue with the boil interfering with wort getting into the intake port, but I'm curious if others see this and if there's a way to resolve it.

For reference I'm using:

BrewBuilt 10 gal kettle with a Spikes 5/8" ID dip tube that draws from the bottom at the edge. I'm using a center inlet chugger pump. I pump to a 1/2" diameter whirlpool arm from stainless brewing (they call it a whirlpool racking cane and it goes over the top of the kettle, not through the side).
I have a ball valve on the pump outlet side. I'm using 1/2" silicone tubing and 1/2" ball lock quick connectors.

Thoughts?