What yeast is best???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amonratut

Reaction score
Okay okay I know I'm going to get a ton of different suggestions which is exactly what I want šŸ˜Š but what yeast is best for making strawberry wine? I hear that baker's yeast is best. Thoughts??

This article really helped me choose what yeast to use - and why to not use bread yeast in making wine:

Making Wine with Bread Yeast ... NOT!

Mostly what I use for fruit wines is the Lalvin EC-1118 yeast. It's specifically designed for fruit wines, and is an absolute beast at eating sugars and turning them into alcohol.

I've used baker's yeast to make mead and it turned out great. It's actually still aging but it tasted awesome when i racked it to the secondary.

I'm still learning the best way to write recipes so it's easier for me to give you instructions.
Make a starter with 71b using distilled water with a smidge of white sugar. I use a sterile mason jar and leave the cap slightly loose so it doesnt explode.
I'll leave amount you want to make ambiguous.