Too much trub to take O.G. reading??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gleemonger

Reaction score
So I'm still a newbie, and just brewed up my third batch yesterday. For now I'm trying to do something different each time (that is, that involves at least a couple new processes).

My first was a super simple IPA with just LME and a few hop additions to the boil - no steeping, dry hopping or anything like that. The second was a porter, that involved some steeping. Both turned out pretty great, other than being a tad yeasty maybe. I didn't use a secondary or filter in any way. I use a 6.5 gallon plastic bucket with a spigot at the bottom. Thanks for forums like this, I'm pretty sure I know what I could've done with each of those to make them come out totally perfect (perfect as designed of course, I'm not to the stage of designing my own yet...)

The batch I just did yesterday was a Pliny the Elder clone from More Beer. I wanted to try one that had a TON of ingredients, the possibility of blowoff, dry hopping, etc etc. Brew day went pretty flawlessly except for the very end, when I noticed how much trub there really was! My first two batches kind of settled out while I was using the wort chiller, then when transferring from the kettle, which has a spigot at the bottom, it seemed to avoid a good amount of the trub. This time, though, I guess there was just so much crap floating around in the batch, even after having the chance to settle while cooling, that a ton of it got into the primary. Like I said, I don't do any sort of filtering while transferring to primary (I'm thinking I should now, at least make SOME sort of attempt if doing big ones like this).

OKAY SORRY, NOW THAT I'VE SAID ALL THAT, HERE'S THE MAIN QUESTION, WELL TWO QUESTIONS: