Stalled fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JR59

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm very new to brewing and fermenting things; I began just last month with mead, which I enjoy drinking and have wanted to make for ages. I received a mead making kit for Christmas, for an orange Melomel, (contents; demijon, yeast, steriliser etc.) and finally go around to making it on the 14th of April. I followed the instructions which came with the kit as carefully as I could, but about four days ago it seemed to 'stop' - it no longer bubbled into the bubbler. There seemed to be no activity at all when it had seemed quite happy bubbling along previously. I gave it a bit of time and watched it, but no bubbling occurred. I put this perhaps down to the sudden change of weather we had (from mild to quite a cold snap) - I was keeping the demijon in the pantry which is about kitchen temp but lost a bit of heat lately due to unseasonal weather) I wonder if the fermentation has stalled and, if so, if it is possible to re-start the fermentation process with adding a nother round of yeast, or if I should chuck it away and start the process all over again?
I was getting quite optimistic about mead and looking up what to try next and I'd love to make a small success of my mead making - I've already brought two more demijons.

Thank you kindly for any advice,
JR

It's difficult to tell. Airlock activity is no certain indication.

If you can, try to get hold of a hydrometer. In a situation like this I'd usually ask about the initial reading and the curent reading. This, in addition to knowing what type of yeast was included with the kit, would have given a whole lot of info about the state of the fermentation.