Sour Taste on finish

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gary910

Reaction score
I have a Merlot (from frozen grapes) that has fermented out, I have aged it almost a month letting the lees settle.

This is my first time using grapes (must). I have always worked from juice, and I have never used true wine grapes.

I am a bit of a purist, in that I don't like to add stuff to my wine (sulfites, etc.). I am not so stubborn as to being unwilling to change.

As you might be able to tell from the title, my wine has a bit of a sour finish. I am kind of thinking this is going to "age" out, but I am not sure. I just wanted to get some of the more advanced/experts opinions here.

I also have a Cabernet Sauvignon that is just finishing fermenting. It too is sour, and so has me a little bit concerned. The sour is not overwhelming, but just a little "off putting". Not enough to make my wine "bad", just it would be a lot better without the sour taste.

Suggestions, PLEASE...

Thank you.

Can you walk through the process that you used to make the wines?

1) I waited for my grapes (must) to thaw.
2) I pitched the yeast.
3) I tasted the juice that had broken up from the grapes and felt that it was time to squeeze the grapes.
4) I squeezed the grapes into a carboy (with some oak chips that I had soaked in whiskey)
5) I let it sit until the yeast had settled
6) I CO2 racked

Basically, that is it. I know it is really simple...

While it was fermenting, I pushed down my grapes a few times a day.

I hope that answers your question. I am not trying to be too short, it really is just that simple. As I said, I am a bit of a purist and don't want it to be too complicated, but I want it to be good.