racking to secondary and attenuation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Honda88

Reaction score
Hello,

Its been awhile since I posted on here. Busy with life I guess. I am currently an extract/partial grain brewer. I brew mainly kits but next time I brew I'm probably going to put together my own recipe. Anyways I'm not a complete noob but the other day I was wondering if racking to secondary for clearing purposes has any effect on attenuation? My kit manufacturers recommend doing this before fermentation is complete(similar to wine). I haven't had any problems doing this with wine but I did notice that the oatmeal stout I brewed a few months ago seemed to be overly sweet.. I was concerned that maybe taking it off the yeast cake contributed to this. Is this possibly only a problem with higher gravity beers? thanks

I just let my beers clear in the primary. Usually bottle around day 21 after the start of active fermentation.

I used a secondary clearing vessel for a period of time until getting my one and only infected beer. I figured since I couldn't infect a beer doing primary only the racking to a secondary was the unnecessary risk factor.

Yes, racking to a secondary pre-maturely usually stalls the fermentation with its subsequent lack of attenuation. Also agree with the lack of need for a dedicated secondary to clearing. I consider my kegs secondary/conditioning and those are purged and under CO2.