rack the mead to secondary.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bullet08

Reaction score
i racked the "show" mead to secondry over the weekend. i never had mead before, so i'm not sure if it supposed to taste like this or not.,

it was bad tasting, but it tasted a lot like red bull/mountain dew with alcohol. is it supposed to taste like that?

pete

I think so, I believe I have heard this discription before to describe a show mead. However I am not very experienced with this type of mead, I've just been reading a lot of posts! Let's wait for an expert's oppinion, but I believe until it has aged for a while this is what it tastes like...

Do not worry. My first mead tasted like antiseptic when I bottled it. Let alone racked it for the first time. The sweetness will come back in the aging process. I recomend oaking it with 1 oz of lightly toasted oak chips for about 3 weeks. Then just wait for it to clear and bottle. Then forget about it for at least 8 months, a year if you can. Should be nice and smooth and regain it's sweetness.

Matrix

so i read "compleat mead" book and read the reply on this thread. i'm interested in adding some oak chips in the mead. what kind of chips and how much are we talking about? i'm brewing small batch. the last one is about 1 gallon.

pete

so i read "compleat mead" book and read the reply on this thread. i'm interested in adding some oak chips in the mead. what kind of chips and how much are we talking about? i'm brewing small batch. the last one is about 1 gallon.

pete