"Pumpple Bee Cider" pumpkin pie test brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Justwingnit

Reaction score
UPDATED Recipe see message #9

I'm a newbie at creating recipes so please help me tweak this attempt to make something that taste like pumpkin pie.
I was thinking with the time of year it is I wanted to try to make a Pumpkin Apple Cider. After a week of reviewing this web page for possible recipes and having had a lot of good luck with fresh honey, cinnamon, maple syrup, apple cider, using WLP775 yeast. I came up with this recipe.

Any advice or recommendations before I make it?
I like shooting for 10% abv.

Sand’Angelo’s
Pumpple Bee Cider 001

1 large pie pumpkin or about 2 cup of 100% pumpkin puree
1 large banana
1 large Orange
1/2 cup apple n spice instant oatmeal
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
3 tbsp cinnamon
10 whole cloves
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 LB of dark brown sugar +or- based on OG (looking for 1.075 to 1.080)
1 qt of fresh honey
4 gallon of apple juice / or apple cider (with no preservatives)
4 tsp of yeast nutrients
1 packet of White Labs WLP775 English Cider Yeast

Juice Pumpkin (No rind) Banana (no peel) and Orange (whole thing)
add Juice mix and 1/2 gallon (or so) apple juice with sugar and boil
after 45 min. of slow boil add all other dry ingredients and honey
let simmer about 15 more min then cool to room temp naturally.

mix everything into carboy and take a OG reading
Pitch yeast, and mix one more time

Primary until air lock activity slows about 10 days
Siphon into secondary (leaving bottom to wash yeast and reuse)
Ferment in secondary until gravity has stabilized for 3 consecutive days
Take FG reading and calculate approx. ABV. (looking for FG of 1.0 or less)

If needed back flavor at bottling to taste trying to keep maximum ABV.