Prevent leaching of Cyanoacrylate adhesive into the beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kunal Vanjare

Reaction score
Hello guys, a friend has asked me to brew an SOS batch for his birthday next month. I don't brew that often and have just the one fermenter which I am going to be using for my Hefeweizen batch this week.

What I do have is a 5 Ltr PET jar which I would like to use to ferment the batch for my friend. I was thinking I will cut a hole in the lid and use some of my silicone tubing as a blow-off hose instead of putting a stopper and airlock. To attach the hose to the lid, I would have used some cyanoacrylate based adhesive.

Now I am no pro but I do understand the risks of using these things. So was wondering if there is any way I can 'cure' the adhesive before using it for brewing?

Any help would be great. Thanks.

P.S- I do not live in the US. Buying another fermenter in such short notice is not possible :)

If you drill the hole a tad (1 mm?) smaller than the outside diameter of the tubing, you don't need to glue anything. It holds in place by friction, due to a very tight fit.
I'd rather use vinyl tubing for a blow off than silicone, as it is less O2 permeable.

When drilling thin, hard plastic (the lid) it's easy to crack once the drill bit is almost through and starts to bite. So be gentle, and careful. Or try on a piece of scrap first. Maybe use some backing wood. Or drill a smaller hole and file or sand it out to the exact width, using a dowel or something tapered.

I would do as IslandLizard says. That way you can change it out if you ever need to.

If you drill the hole a tad (1 mm?) smaller than the outside diameter of the tubing, you don't need to glue anything. It holds in place by friction, due to a very tight fit.