Possible Sankey keg clogged? Barely pours

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

piratewoo

Reaction score
I have been homebrewing for a few years with decent success. I just made a NEIPA and from the carboy kegged it to a sankey keg. Just put it on tap recently and the tap was pretty quickly clogged with bits of trub. It was pouring super slow and I thought the keg may be blocked so I blasted some Co2 in the beer line and waited a day. My first pour was all foam so I took the tap off and cleaned it, connected just a clear beer tube for pouring (skipped the kegerator) and tried a different tap. Same problem. All it get is some very slow pouring foam. I'm thinking the keg spear may be clogged. Any suggestions or tips to clear this? Worst case would be to take it all apart and move the beer to another keg (maybe filtering it to a bucket first.

Could be plugging the poppet. NEIPA is good for that with all the late additions and the FAST turn around time. Have you tried a picnic faucet blow out with some high pressure (like 30 PSI) Let it settle and then connect your gas at 30 PSI connect a picnic faucet and BLOW it into a pitcher. I use to do this all the time. If that doesn't work then yes, let it settle in the keg for a few days then open and transfer into another keg may be your only option. I mean there is the pull, cut and replace dip tube options I guess too... It can also be the "Beer out" connector. We have seen that a few times too. Where the black ball lock connect poppet is broken and doesn't depress the keg poppet far enough.

Cheers
Jay

It's pretty difficult to clog a sankey spear (though not impossible). Especially with beer (even with some settled trub).