over the counter bactericidal/bacteriostatic compounds for growth media

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KyleWolf

Reaction score
Hey everyone.

I traditionally don't use slants or plates for yeast isolation and growth, but I now have a few reasons (other than just curiosity) to do so.

I have what I suspect is a lightly infected culture of a retired yeast strain that I am very partial to. I want to do a culture on an agar medium to isolate a single colony. At the same time I don't want to pull any potential bacteria with it (I know, isolation techniques are made just for this reason, but I am just being cautious).

I am a microbiologist by trade, so I do have access to antibiotics like Ampicillin Pen/Strep, etc. but I figured if I am doing this at home, might as well find a way to do it that people at home can reproduce.

So, long story short, I am looking for something I can add to my media (DME/agar) that has bactericidal or bacteriostatic properties to allow the yeast, but not bacteria, to grow. I thought about hops, honey, or garlic. I know they aren't antibiotics, but I they could at least give the yeast an advantage.

Thoughts?
TL;DR- looking for something to reduce bacterial growth on agar/slants.

unsure the best regime -
Within what I can think of perhaps a combination with isolating, growing it as a small starter. washing with chlorine dioxide then feeding and plating it again would be the best method.