"Northeast" Type "Juicy" IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zgja2

Reaction score
I have done a lot of reading on the subject and think i have come up with something with a lot of potential. I originally designed the recipe for London Ale III due to rumors alot of the breweries doing this style use it and it tends to add to the cloudiness and juice like appearance but since i am still unsure i will have time to brew this weekend, I am going to pitch OYL Bring on the funk Brett blend. I have been maintaining a culture of this for a few months and only used it twice so I figured i can cold crash it and pitch it if i have time to brew. Looking for thoughts on the recipe, water, and yeast. Cheers

Brew Method: BIAB
Style Name: American Pale Ale
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 5.5 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 7.5 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.040
Efficiency: 70% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.054
Final Gravity: 1.015
ABV (standard): 5.17%
IBU (tinseth): 28.47
SRM (morey): 3.81

FERMENTABLES:
9.2 lb - American - Pale 2-Row (78.6%)
0.75 lb - Flaked Oats (6.4%)
0.75 lb - Flaked Wheat (6.4%)
0.75 lb - German - Carapils (6.4%)
0.25 lb - German - Acidulated Malt (2.1%)

HOPS:
0.5 oz - Magnum, Type: Pellet, AA: 15, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 28.47
1 oz - Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Whirlpool for 20 min at 160 °F
1 oz - Simcoe, Type: Pellet, AA: 12.7, Use: Whirlpool for 20 min at 160 °F
1 oz - Galaxy, Type: Pellet, AA: 14.25, Use: Whirlpool for 20 min at 160 °F
2 oz - Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Dry Hop for 3 days
2 oz - Simcoe, Type: Pellet, AA: 12.7, Use: Dry Hop for 3 days
2 oz - Galaxy, Type: Pellet, AA: 14.25, Use: Dry Hop for 3 days

OTHER INGREDIENTS:
2 oz - Orange Peel, Time: 5 min, Type: Other, Use: Boil

YEAST: