NooB seeking advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trusty32

Reaction score
Hi there! I am a complete beginner to all of this, but have brewed a few recipes from kits and been reading up on making my own recipe. I am a big fan of wheat beers and took a crack at a recipe that I wanted to get some feedback on before starting off to make it. Here is what I got:

Grains:
* 1 lbs belgian wheat malt
* 0.5 lbs Honey Malt

Hops:
* 1 oz centennial - 12 minutes in the boil
* 1 oz glacier - 12 minutes in the boil

Extract:
* 6.5 lbs Pilsner liquid extract

Yeast
* Wyeast American Wheat

What do you all think? Bad idea? Good idea? When I plugged this all into Beersmith I got an estimated OG of 1.048, 21.4 IBUs, 5.9 color, and 4.8% ABV.

Thanks!

:mug:

Hi there! I am a complete beginner to all of this, but have brewed a few recipes from kits and been reading up on making my own recipe. I am a big fan of wheat beers and took a crack at a recipe that I wanted to get some feedback on before starting off to make it. Here is what I got:

Grains:
* 1 lbs belgian wheat malt
* 0.5 lbs Honey Malt

Hops:
* 1 oz centennial - 12 minutes in the boil
* 1 oz glacier - 12 minutes in the boil

Extract:
* 6.5 lbs Pilsner liquid extract

Yeast
* Wyeast American Wheat

What do you all think? Bad idea? Good idea? When I plugged this all into Beersmith I got an estimated OG of 1.048, 21.4 IBUs, 5.9 color, and 4.8% ABV.

Thanks!

I don't have much experiance with extract, mainly cuz I have only done all grain. This looks good, but might turn out a little bland. I would add a bit of coriander and citrus zest (orange, grapefruit, lemon, and lime all work nicely) to give it more flavor.