Noob building a coffin keezer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey everyone, happy to be here to share my project. I'm new to brewing and just recently started researching kegerators --- and landed upon the idea of a keezer which better supports my needs.

After brewing two batches (a Dunkelweizen & Honeyweizen) and doing a couple ciders, I realized I want to be able to showcase my handiwork in something other than a bottle. I evaluated the simple collar keezer but the wife and I both agreed that we want this beverage dispenser to be out in the open, not hidden away in our hobby room or garage. Therefore, it needs to integrate well into our design - but our 15cf Whirlpool chest freezer (even after painting black) just doesn't do that.

This freezer fits very nicely in an alcove created by our stairs and we are confident we can build something that looks like fits in. It will sport 7 Perlick faucets with the idea that 4 will be on CO2 for beer/cider and the other 3 could be on Nitrogen for wine or stout.

Below are a couple of pictures to show where this will be sitting in our house. We're going to use Poplar as the wood stained closer the cherry color on the stairs.

LivingRoom.jpg Stairs.jpg

Below shows the tile and backsplash we have chosen.

tileandbackspash.jpg

And, I put it on casters, but didn't take pictures.

8kSTYS%STRew2H8VUbXh7A.jpg

Advice always welcomed.

Last edited: