New brewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mcody014

Reaction score
Hey guys my name is Mike and I live on Long Island NY and have been wanting to take the plunge to start home brewing so I just bought this home brewing kit for $250 off Craigslist what is everyone's thoughts ? Was it a good deal ? Here's a pic of the ad of what was included in Craigslist and a pic of the setup. I'm starting off with a summer ale all extract kit I was thinking about adding 12oz of honey at the last 5 mins of boil .. Any pointers ?

image.jpg

image.jpeg

image.png

I'm no expert, but it looks like a great start to me....

And welcome to the forum! Lots of great people here who will be able to help you learn to use it and get the best from it. :mug:

Welcome to the site and to the addiction.
Adding 12 oz's of honey(is that volume or weight, I love the English system) in the boil will really do nothing but give you a slight sugar increase. If you want honey flavor, ad it in the fermenter. It will still pretty much ferment out but you might get some honey flavors if you use enough.

Looks like a great deal! I can't tell how big the buckets are. For 5 gallon batches, I recommend the 6.5 gallon Ale Pails. I'm also not sure what that big bottle is...? It's not a Better Bottle.

Re: Honey, as corkybstewart says, all that will really do is increase your fermentables slightly. If you want honey flavor, I'd probably use some honey malt. And honey, why not! Double the honey, double the fun.