New Brewer from Oakland, CA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blasterooni

PIpe line is now well established
Reaction score
I started brewing cider in June of this year quite accidentally, really, though I have been contemplating brewing mead for years now. My grandmother brewed mead from the honey she harvested from the hives in her yard. It would be ready by Christmas (Yule) every year. It is a tradition I want to keep, and pass on to m daughter.

Anyhow, I have been buying dextrose from the local home brewing store for my protein drinks (I'm a gym rat), and one day, after discovering hard cider, I asked the guy behind the counter what it would take to brew my own cider. He handed me a little slip of paper with some vague instructions and ingredients; looked fairly simple and straight forward enough. So, my next question was how much do all these things cost? and it came to about $11 if i remember correctly. You know, an airlock, some yeast (EC-1118), tannin, yeast nutrient, campden tablets, and a rubber stopper; I already had some 2 liter jugs. I bought the stuff, and stopped to get some juice on the way home. I opted for a gallon jug of organic, unfiltered apple juice.