My mash tun and re-circulation setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GreenEnvy22

Reaction score
Hi all,
I've been brewing all grain for a few years and decided to upgrade some of my equipment. Still using a basic 8-gallon boiler on kitchen gas stove for boiling.
For mashing, I had been using a 48qt rectangular coleman cooler, with a CPVC manifold I built.
I've replaced this with a 10 gallon igloo cooler, with a false bottom. I added a bit of silicone tubing to the bottom pickup of the false bottom, so less than a cup of liquid is left in the cooler after draining. Did a trial run of a west coast IPA this week and it worked great. I actually got sidetracked canning salsa and tomato sauce with my wife for a while so the grains mashed for almost 2 hours, but still only about 1.5 degree F drop in that time.

Now I'm adding a recirculation pump. I cutup my old CPVC manifold from the bottom of the old mash tun, and will use that as a manifold on top of the grain bed when recirculating. I't got slits cut in it, but also open ended elbows on tips incase slits plug up. I have a small 2GPM pump.
For maintaining heat, I plan on using my copper cooling coil. I will immerse this in a pot of water, with the recirc pump moving the wort through the coil. And have a sous vide heater/pump in the pot set to maintain my mash temp, so a HERMS style I guess.
My plan for the return line of the recirc pump is to drill a hole near the top of the cooler, rather than in the lid, so I can still remove the lid easily. I'll make a bulkhead passthrough there.

The last photo is the manifold I made, and just tested it via gravity feed from the mash tun.

Anyone see any problems with this setup?
Thanks!

Attachments

• Image_20200813_0818414027612838631777543.jpg