Levels of gluten free, steeping grains ok?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OrkinYards

Reaction score
My girlfriend is celiac and I have been experimenting with gluten free brewing for a few months now. However, I have still been using steeping grains to get the wort started and get my color. She has not had any of her typical reactions when drinking the beer. I'm curious if this is considered gluten free or what the general opinion is? I've had several people who are aggravated because they can't drink good beer anymore try my beer with no gluten reactions. In fact, I brewed a gluten free chocolate bourbon stout that won a local home brew contest. I've been assuming gluten free because of the sorghum, but curious what the reality is.

Thanks!

Generally no, the inclusion of gluten ingredients (barley, sorghum, rye) means that the product may not be gluten free.

It could potentially be under the threshold that many consider gluten free in terms of ppm or dilution. Meaning that for some people who have this may be ok if they have no other gluten triggering proteins while it's in their body. For other people, it could push them over the limit and they can have a reaction. For people who are very sensitive to gluten, they can have a reaction.

If anything, it's likely to be considered a low gluten beer or gluten free by european standards but a risk to people who need gluten completely eliminated. You can always send it in for testing, or use some testing strips to see what shows, but based on your tests with people who say they've not had a reaction, it's low gluten enough that it doesn't trigger on its own.