IPA beer plan?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dfouty

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm new to brewing and am wondering if my plan for my current brew sounds okay and if anyone has any tips for me!

I'm brewing an extract IPA. Right now I have it in its primary. I'm planning on keeping it there for 2 weeks and then racking onto an ounce of hops for dry hopping in the secondary. Then from there I'd move the secondary to the fridge for a week long cold crash. And finally from there rack it into the keg.

Any tips or advice would be great.

-Dave

That sounds reasonable.

A few things to add, I ferment my beers according to the fermentation, not a timeilne. In general, two weeks is enough, but if things are still working, or you detect yeast byproduct flavors (green apple, buttery/butterscotch), leaving the beer on the primary a little longer is a good thing as it gives the yeast time to clean things up.

Additionally, you can easily dry hop in the primary once fermentation subsides, if you choose. I prefer this method as I avoid a secondary and the risks of transferring (I am mostly worried about oxidation). Plus, there is one less vessel to clean with this technique. You do what you want, both methods are acceptable.

I need to ask a few questions before I make any comments.

What kind of extract did you use?
What size is this batch?
What kind of hop additions did you do during the boil and at what amounts/times?
What was your original gravity?
Which strain of yeast are you using and what are your fermentation temps?
How much yeast did you use?

Lots of questions, I know. But it is important to have a record of these things for us to have any idea of how to advise you or share feedback on your brew.

Thank you for your replies.

9.15 lbs of gold lme