Installing a HERMS coil

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VladTheImbiber

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to brewing so forgive my choice of words, but I purchased an already made brew rig that came with a nice HLT. At the top are 3 stainless bulk heads. One to recirculate water and two to hook up a HERMS coil (I assume). Problem is, the bulk heads are elbows (pointing down) and at the top of the pot (15gal pot I think?). All coils I see online for purchase have the ends horizontal to be installed by drilling new holes in a new pot I assume (towards the middle or bottom of the pot). In my case, I need the ends of the coil vertical to connect to the elbows and to extend to the top of the pot.

I know copper is easy to kink (and would tarnish?), is stainless a better choice or am I thinking about this all wrong? Can stainless be easily bent without damage?

PS> I wish I could find a photo of an existing setup like the one I describe above.

I have no practical experience with this, but I've read that filling the tube with salt will help keep it from kinking while bending. Could your 90* elbow be a removable dip tube or something? Check bargain fittings.com they have all kinds of parts perhaps you could remove the elbow and connect directly to the herms?

I've never tried to bend stainless tubing, but my understanding is it's very difficult without tools/machines. You could have one made to your specifications, but I wouldn't recommend trying to bend it yourself.