How do you drink all the beer you brew?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TandemTails

Reaction score
I've been making cider and mead for a few months (small batches mostly) and just brewed my first beer (Orange American Wheat recipe from the recipe DB here). The ciders and meads need a long time to sit and age so it hasn't really been a problem letting them sit in the bottles, plus the batches have been really small.

I have a lot of fun brewing but in reality I probably only have 2-3 alcoholic drinks in an average week. At the rate I've been brewing, I'm going to have what seems like a lifetime supply of beer, cider and mead on my hands.

Aside from the obvious of giving it to friends, how do you all go through so much beer? Do you have a bottle or two a night or just bring it to huge events and offload several gallons at a time that way?

Christmas is just around the corner, great chance to offload a decent chunk if you need. The wife's family is having a weeklong gathering in TN the week after Christmas, I plan on taking 3-4 cases with me. Will probably take one to share with the in-laws, too...

Brewing small batches, that means I buy more than I want, still. I call that "getting more empty bottles".

;)
This is how I justify going to the store and bringing home a sixer when I have 200+ bottles of home brew in the spare bedroom.

I have a kegerator but pretty much anytime we visit friends I'll bring a growler or two to share, more if it's a party. You could also use excess beer on hand as an excuse to throw a party at your place!