How do I know that using my fermentor is risky or it might harbour bacteria?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Elysium

Reaction score
I am wondering if there are visual sign as to when to throw away and get a new fermentor bucket?

Ours has a few scratches at the bottom from the spoon we use to aerate the wort.....but they are normal scratches....it is not like its destroyed or something.
Another thing is that I never take the tap off....I just run the cleaner and sanitier through it. That might be a bit of a problem too....I really dont know.

By the way.....how many uses do you normally get out of an average plastic fermentor?

I have fermenters I've been using for 3 yrs now that I bought used, I have replaced the spigots sometime last year. I wash them with real hot water and a sponge. If you are concerned about infection then replace them, $15 is not much compared to loosing an entire batch.

It sounds like you're using a bottle filling bucket for a primary fermenter. Any bucket with scratches in it isn't a good thing. Scratches are a great place for bacteria to hide out in and avoid your sanitizing efforts. The spigots on bottling buckets can also harbor bacteria and need to be removed and cleaned in-between use. You should be able to unscrew it from the locking nut inside and remove the gaskets and the spigot. Thoroughly clean them and get any gunk out of them. Another place that people often forget to check are the O rings around the lid and the gaskets lining airlock/blowoff holes. Remove those and clean them, too.