Hefeweizen question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Caboose

Reaction score
Last night I had the chance to try Sierra Nevada's Hefeweizen, and of course I loved it!

Im still pretty new in the world of brewing so I am still on extract kits. I am looking for one that is similar to SN's, which one would be recommended and would I need to add anything to get it similar?

Are you talking about the Kellerweis? I haven't had it but pulled it up on the SN site. Sounds like a basic American wheat. Any Am. wheat kit should get you in the ballpark. I don't know what yeast is used and that could be important if you want to clone the Kellerweis.

Go with something like White Lab 320 American Hefeweizen Yeast.

It'll give authentic character and flavor, as well as a low flocculation rate to keep it cloudy.

After a quick search it does indeed look like the yeast is unique. A lot of people are culturing the strain from the commercial bottles for their clones.

Kellerweis is not an American Wheat. Its a German style American Hefeweizen.

"Several years ago, the brewers began working with a unique Bavarian hefeweizen yeast strain unknown in this country. This amazingly flavorful yeast was so exciting that they began working on a recipe for a traditional German hefeweizen with the Sierra Nevada twist. Traditional hefeweizen is a style that seems deceptively simple, but in reality is devilishly complex. For years the brewers weren’t satisfied with the beer; something was missing. In a flash of inspiration, an epic trip was arranged. The brewers took a whirlwind tour through the legendary Bavarian wheat breweries to see what they were doing. It was there they realized the advantages of making wheat beer using the traditional system of open fermentation."