getting a brewery job

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rewster452

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm going to try for a job at the Boulevard Brewing company pretty soon. First let me tell you about my situation, and then my questions.

I'm thirty years old, and I'll be married by the time I move back to KC. I've never worked at a brewery, but I've been an all grain brewer for six years, and I have several years of experience in the service industry with a record that will back up my claim of being hardworking. I also have a "friend-of-a-friend" who works in the warehouse.

My questions are, even though the brewery is pretty casual and I do plan on keeping my beard, I should at least dress business casual (if I even get an interview), right? And, how do I get an interview? I understand they have a pretty tight operation, but I'm sure positions open there occasionally. This question has mostly been answered in other threads, the answer being overwhelmingly no, do not bring homebrew to the interview. But it might not hurt to try to give a six pack to someone there to impress them into giving me an interview, right?

I'd be very interested in hearing your thoughts, and thank you's all around.

I wouldn't take my homebrew to a commercial brewery and ask them for a job. Personally, get your friend-of-a-friend to work some magic and maybe see if you can meet with some of the employees after hours. Have a few brews and maybe "WOW" them with your extensive knowledge. At which point you could tell them it's always been your dream to work at a commercial brewery.

Really though, I'm not sure how many paid positions just come up at breweries. I know quite a few people who intern, or volunteer, but getting hired sounds like a longshot. Possible, but a longshot.