First time recipe help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

STUNTx2

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at formulating my own recipe. I ran it through a free program I found on the internet and used those numbers as a guide. When I brewed today the numbers didn't quite gel. Anybody got some fancy software that can quickly run the numbers or tell me were I went went wrong, if I did? I am not totally hung up on the numbers being spot on, I just want beer that tastes good and be able to create my own recipes for it. Like I said if it tastes good I'm happy, but would appreciate any advice that somone with a little more experience might have.

I steeped the grains for 30 minutes at 170 in 1 1/2 gallons. Added another gallon and the LME to bring the total boil volume to 3 gallons. And boiled for 60 minutes.
These are the numbers from the freeware.

OG: 1.065 FG: 1.010
Alcohol: 7.1% v/v (5.5% w/w)
Grain: 1.25 lb. American 6-row
.5 lb. American crystal 90L
.25 lb. American crystal 120L
..25 lb. Roasted barley
Boil: 60 minutes SG 1.108 3 gallons
4 lb. Amber malt extract
4 lb. Light malt extract
Hops: 2 oz. Kent Goldings (5% AA, 60 min.)
.5 oz. Mt. Hood (4.5% AA, 30 min.)

My readings were 1.137 for the gravity of the boil, and 1.054 for the OG once I added about 3 gallons of top off water. It's suppposed to be an Irish red. Any help or coments would be appreciated.

Thanks.