First time kegging, I guess I did it right!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DrnkNPublic

Reaction score
So im new to brewing and bought my first keg yesterday. I put a batch of cider into it (one of the pouch concentrate ones). I listened to the guy at the local home brew shop advice but wound up kinda "winging it". Really his advice was to set it to 20psi and let it sit for 3 days but i tried quick carbing it cuz im impatient. Put the cider in, charged the keg and purged the air, cranked up the reg to 45 psi, charged, disconnected the line, rolled the keg around for a bit/ repeat several times. Purged the excess pressure. Set the psi around 5 and poured a glass. It wasn't super carbonated but I liked it the way it was. Set the psi back to 45 and let it sit over night. Today I poured a glass and it was the same. Not super bubbly but was happy with it. Should I be worried if I didn't do it "right" but still liked it? Plus it's good for a cider but maybe not for an ale, idk I guess I would have to try it. Also when I try to set my reg higher the 55psi the blow off safety thing (idk what it's really called) popes open. Is this just the max that my reg can push? Thanx in advance for ur help!

Sounds like you did it right, or at least good enough. The carbonation will improve over the next week or so. I usually start drinking after a couple shakes, but it takes a few days to a week (depending on how much shaking I did to start) chilled at the right pressure/temp to really hit the stride. Not sure about that blowoff valve, I would think it would be a lot higher. I know I can hit 60 in my kegs with no pop off.