First Mead(s): 2 melomels and a metheglin

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Indie

Reaction score
I’m still new to brewing (only three beers in the bottle), and once my primary cleared last week I decided to try something new (though at this point I suppose it’s all still new): hard cider. Now that it’s bubbling away nicely I was trying to figure out what to do with all these one gallon jugs, and decided to make three 1-gallon mead tests.

These are my first meads, so feedback and suggestions are definitely welcome and appreciated!

Note: I live in LA and the tap water is pretty harsh (chlorine, fluoride, rocket fuel, etc) so before hand I gave 4 gallons of water a good boil to help burn off and mitigate as much nastiness as possible. When I mention adding water it came from this stock.

I made a small solution of yeast nutrient (for a typical 5 gal batch) then split in among three small bowls, and pitched yeast in to these while I was brewing (musting? meadering?). It sat in the solution (covered) for about an hr or so. When the must had cooled I pitched yeast and nutrient together.

Mead_Ingredients.jpg
Mead_Final.jpg

Left to right: Berry Melomel, Banana Melomel, Spice Metheglin.

Berry Melomel:
2 lbs wildflower honey
1 lb orange blossom honey
2 lbs strawberries (frozen)
2 lbs blueberries (frozen)
1 vanilla bean
Lalvin D-47

Still frozen, I pureed the berries together, then put them in a pot with 4 cups water and brought up to just below simmering. Added the honey and vanilla bean, let sit on low heat stirring occasionally to make sure the solution blended. This made about 1 gallon of must without additional water.

Banana Melomel:
2 lbs wildflower honey
2.5 lbs banana (4.2 lbs w/ peel)
1 vanilla bean
Red Star Montrachet