First cider batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bragona71

Reaction score
I have been brewing for a couple years so I figured I'd try a cider since my neighbors tree was dropping apples all over. I cleaned. Sanitized everything like I would with beer. Ran through a juicer dropped a campen tablet in. It's about 3.5 gallons. I have it in a 6 gallon carboy. My plan is to leave it over night and tomorrow throw some premier blanc yeast in it tomorrow after work. So I have a couple questions. First how long do I let it ferment? Second I plan on adding pomegranate,when should I add? And lastly I don't plan on bottling I put all my beer into a keg as secondary. Can I rack to keg and carb for serving? I'm all my reading I don't find anyone kegging cider.

Thanks for your thoughts!!

Leave for a month or until clear, rack to secondary and add your pomegranate. You sure can keg, but I don't so someone else might be able to help you with that one.

It takes a long time for cider to finish. It usually ferments very dry and sometimes has little apple flavor. You'll want to add some apple flavor and sweetness back in. The best way to do that is to add fresh juice in (if you have it, freeze it to stop the yeast). That's called backsweetening, and it is a good time/way to add flavor, too.

Ferment it dry (about a month). Add the pomegranate juice to the keg to sweeten and dilute. You might want to add some frozen apple juice concentrate as well. Then rack the fermented cider into the keg. Seal and carb like a beer.

I usually do about 2 gallons of fermented cider (minus the sediment) and add back in another gallon to make 3. The cider will ferment to about 6% on its own if you didn't add sugar. If you dilute it by 1/3 with fresh juice, you cider that's about 4.5%.