first batch taste

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I just recently tried my single hop best bitter. It tastes pretty good has a nice color but the head went away pretty fast after pouring. Any advice on head retention?

First, how long has it been in the bottle? How long did you chill it prior to cracking it open?

More time on both of those can make a difference, I think it may really be too early to judge the beer. Was this the northern brewer recipe, or one of your own?

Northern brewer recipe. I'm just learning the basics right now but since I started I can't keep my fermented empty. Lol kind of got hooked quick. Just bottled a dark cherry stout n I'm bottling a blonde ale in a few days

I would trust the recipe and give it a little more time. Also once you have a bit of a pipeline built up, start letting your batches stay in the fermenter about 4 weeks, it will make a difference.

I was the same way when I started, brewed almost weekly.

Doesn't the yeast produce off flavors if it sits in the fermenter too long? I fermented a week then transferred to secondary for a week prior to bottling

Doesn't the yeast produce off flavors if it sits in the fermenter too long? I fermented a week then transferred to secondary for a week prior to bottling

There are lots of threads debating this all of the forums. Most of the debate has to do with clarity rather than flavor though. You'll find a different opinion on this from just about everyone that answers.

I mix it up depending on whether the batch gets any dry hops or post fermentation flavoring and depending on if I'm harvesting yeast.

I usually do four weeks in a primary if I'm not dry hopping or harvesting, two weeks if I am. Totally up to you man.