First batch in a long time...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nckid4u

Reaction score
This is my first post on this forum. I have been lurking for a few months as I made the decision to get back into home brewing. I started brewing back in the late 1980's in Nova Scotia using prehopped extract kits (Doric was the name - I still remember it). I did finally make the transition to extract and hops before I moved to the US. That was back in the late 1990's and I have not been brewing since. I bought some basic equipment and an extract kit (a Red Ale kit from brewers best) to ease my way back in.
I made certain I maintained proper sanitation and got my wort fermenting according to the recipe from the kit. My kit used Nottingham dry yeast, two cans of light LME, choclate and caramel grains, and one ounce each of fuggle and golding hops (pellets). Smelled great in the boiling pot. The wort was cooled quickly (sink full of ice water replenished as needed). Everything went very smoothly. I used a couple of drop of antifoam during the boil and had not troubles. I also tossed in a whirlfloc tablet near the end of the boil.
Pitched the yeast and set in my closet at 62-64 degrees for 10 days. I think the antifoam affected the krausen, as it was pretty small, but it fermented out great. SG was 1.049. This kit fermented very quickly, but not violently. I believe I had a leaky lid on the bucket as there was little bubbling from the airlock (although I did not pay much attention to the first few days, so I may have missed the activity). By day 5 things were virtually at a standstill. I took a hydrometer reading at day 7, 9, and 10 and it was consistent at 1.012.
I did not transfer to a secondary plan to go straight from primary to bottling bucket.