Feed Your Yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fossilcat

Reaction score
I'm still new at this. I started about a year ago in the fall with a few of batches and only one came out good enough for me to share. So I read what I could on this forum, trying to separate what was relevant, and I did research on line. I was fortunate to save a few Hightest stickies before they disappeared. The more I learned, the more questions I have - seems like I have a million of them. But I'll only pose one for now.

I've been using Hightest's SNA scheme: A portion a inoculation, half that at active fermentation, approximately half again that at the midpoint. He sites Dr Clayton Cone: "the bulk of the nutrients be added before 30% sugar depletion - the yeast are usually well into their stationary phase at 50% sugar depletion and cannot use the nutrients as well as they can before 30% depletion." Result: 85% of the nutrients are given before the 1/3 sugar break.

I've just read Mead Making article on www.MoreWinemaking.com by Shea A.J. Comfort that recommends you wait until active fermentation commences (within approx. 24 hrs). He uses observation instead of gravity readings to determine active fermentation (I don't have a problem with this). He then recommends the 2nd and final feeding somewhere between the 1/3 and 1/2 sugar break, for a total of 2 feedings. I believe his rationale is sound: 1) Feeding during the lag between inoculation and start of fermentation may allow un-desirables (i.e. wild yeast - this is a non-pasteurized must) a foothold before the chosen yeast can build enough mass to begin fermentation; 2) Nutrients, especially DAP, may be too harsh and could damage the newly hydrated cell wall of the young yeast.