Can you calculate the effect of boiling on water?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bennypapa

Reaction score
It's well known that boiling has an effect on water chemistry. Co2 is driven off and minerals that were dissolved in the water by the co2 will settle out if I understand it right. The boiled water can be decanted off the top if done promplty.

Is there a way to calculate this effect?

My water

Existing water
Ph 7.8

Ca 41.4
Mg. 9.9
Na 22.3
Bicarb hco3 110
Sulfate 55 S04-s
Chloride 30
Cations 3.8
Anions 3.8
Total hard. 144
Alk 91
RA 56

I'd like to calculate a boiled version of this water.

Thank you,
Ben

Yes. It's in the Water book. The amount of bicarbonate that precipitates out is a function of the Calcium available. I studied up and tried doing such to salvage my really hard well water. It was visibly effective at removing a ton of minerals, but my water was simply too hard plus heavy in iron. I brewed a handful of batches which still had a mineral or blood twang to them. After some 1gallon side by side experiments, I ended up going with an RO filter after my water softener.

Ca ions final = Ca ions initial - ((HCO3 ions initial - 61)/3.05)

The 61 is a typical final amount of bicarbonate. You can't remove it all. "80 is more typical when calcium is not the limiting quantity."

I used 80 in my calcs, because I was adding sufficient calcium in the form of gypsum to end up with 50ppm Ca in the end.

Any moment now Brungard should be jumping in and correcting anything I got wrong.

You could always boil some and send it to the lab, then you'd know for sure.

I don't have time to get that done before the brewing event that will have boiled and not boiled water available unfortunately.