BIAB basket size

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slc12312

Reaction score
Hi, I'm getting ready to purchase a kettle and basket for my BIAB set up. I plan on starting with 5 gallon batches (since I am new at this), but I also know myself and my friends, I will be jumping to 10 gallon batches once I get the hang of it. Is there such a thing as the perfect set up for BIAB, that works well for both size batches? And, if I buy a kettle and basket (Bayou Classic model B144 basket, 44 qts.), do you think that will be sufficient in size to hold the liner and grain for 10 gallon batches? We all like big beers, so being a noob, I'm just not sure what to get. I have everything else I need, just stuck on the size pot and basket to get.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

There's no way a 44 qt (11 gallon) kettle will be able to hold enough water for a 10 gallon BIAB batch.

You'll want a minimum of a 15 gallon kettle for 10 gallon batches, and that's without BIAB.

I agree. I'm happy with my 10 gallon pot, but if you know for sure you're going to jump to 10 gallon batches, get a 15 gallon pot.

One other thing, get a couple of good size bags (never hurts to have backups) whether you get a 10 or 15 gal kettle. The 5 gallon paint strainer bags are too small for 10 gallon+ kettles.

Yesfan said:
I agree. I'm happy with my 10 gallon pot, but if you know for sure you're going to jump to 10 gallon batches, get a 15 gallon pot.

One other thing, get a couple of good size bags (never hurts to have backups) whether you get a 10 or 15 gal kettle. The 5 gallon paint strainer bags are too small for 10 gallon+ kettles.