Anyone used a spiral spray nozzle to vorlauf

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattd2

Reaction score
Has anyone used a spiral spray nozzle like the one below when pumping the wort back into the MLT during recircluation to vorlauf?
I'm going to get one to try, I don't expect to get the same sort of spray as below with a small pump but if it gives some sort of decent spread it might be worth it (they are only ~US$10 on ebay), plus they apparently won't clog easily.
So anyone else tried one?
20118814371095896.jpg
spiral-nozzle.jpg

I'm no engineer but I don't think you will get that same spray pattern at the pressure from a brew pump.

I agree, and I'm kind of hoping I wouldn't anyway because I would want a gentle splashing rather than an actual spray.
I'll try get a video up once I get it all set up :D
Also found this video - The nozzle he is using is a 3/8" 170° - I am looking at getting a 1/2" 90° spray nozzle
www.youtube.com/embed/MK19lmM_ibs

Does hot-side aeration become a concern with something like that?

I would not be pumping it through enough to get a strong spray going, just a gentle trickle back on top of the mash. HSA seems to not be an issue at a homebrew level as far as I have read. Cheers

I was looking for feed back on the same tip wasn't sure how it would work I will be very interested in seeing that video

I was looking for feed back on the same tip. I would be interested in seeing the video of it in action.

Finally got the new nozzle on and time to brew. I think it worked well.
[ame]http://youtu.be/JOHH1ZmJQFg[/ame]

Was meaning to say, if anyone wants to correct my prenouciation of brewing terms feel free :D

Interesting Idea,

off topic would love to visit kiwi land, but is so damn far from Texas