American Rye Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jhalloran

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first post here and I would love to get some feedback from the community. I'm brewing my 9th batch of beer this weekend (5th all-grain). This is my first time at creating my own recipe. I would love feedback on the recipe itself, and whether using Wyeast 1098 will work for this. 2565 would probably be ideal, but I harvested 1098 yeast from trub back in December and would like to use it.

Wolveryens!
Smoked Orange Rye

8oz Carared
8oz Crystal 120L
1lb Crystal 60L
3lbs Rye Malt
7lbs Marris Otter OR 2-row (up for debate)
1oz Hallertauer (First Wort - 120min)
.5oz Simcoe (20min)
1 oz Hallertauer (10 min)
1 Whirlfloc (10 min)
3 grilled and wood-smoked oranges (halved) (5 min)

Mash:
In @ 154 for 60min
Out @ 168 for 10min
Batch sparge @ 168

Looking forward to critiques and thanks!

jhalloran said:
Hello,

This is my first post here and I would love to get some feedback from the community. I'm brewing my 9th batch of beer this weekend (5th all-grain). This is my first time at creating my own recipe. I would love feedback on the recipe itself, and whether using Wyeast 1098 will work for this. 2565 would probably be ideal, but I harvested 1098 yeast from trub back in December and would like to use it.

Wolveryens!
Smoked Orange Rye

8oz Carared
8oz Crystal 120L
1lb Crystal 60L
3lbs Rye Malt
7lbs Marris Otter OR 2-row (up for debate)
1oz Hallertauer (First Wort - 120min)
.5oz Simcoe (20min)
1 oz Hallertauer (10 min)
1 Whirlfloc (10 min)
3 grilled and wood-smoked oranges (halved) (5 min)

Mash:
In @ 154 for 60min
Out @ 168 for 10min
Batch sparge @ 168

Looking forward to critiques and thanks!