Amarillo + Saaz Lager?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Damian

Reaction score
Hi peoples, I want to brew an all grain Lager using Amarillo + Saaz. I need a grain bill and a yeast also a hopping schedule. I usually go 95% pils and 5% Carapils but I would like to try something slightly different. Any input would be appreciated.

Damian

A good start would be a description of what you're desiring from the Amarillo. Adding it to the boil and dry hopping with it produce two very different flavor profiles in my experience.

HI, I was thinking...
35 IBU
SG 1.048
.5 oz Amarillo 15 min
.5 oz Saaz 15 min

.5 oz Amarillo 1 min
.5 oz Saaz 1 min

but open to suggestions. I have a voucher for a White Labs vile so I would like to use that. Thanks.

I'm not experienced in lagers, but that could be good. Amarillo is more than likely more potent than saaz. So unless you want it to taste mostly like Amarillo, I'd up the saaz or lower the Amarillo.

HI, I was thinking...
35 IBU
SG 1.048
.5 oz Amarillo 15 min
.5 oz Saaz 15 min

.5 oz Amarillo 1 min
.5 oz Saaz 1 min

but open to suggestions. I have a voucher for a White Labs vile so I would like to use that. Thanks.
No bittering? That gets you to 35 IBUs? OK, so I would suggest MORE at the flame out. Like an oz of each...I rarely regret using MORE when it comes to flavoring and aroma and dry hops. Looks tasty.

I want the Amarillo to dominate, I'll increase both my 1 min additions to 1 oz. I'll bitter with NB. What is the most neutral Lager yeast? How would Pils 95% and Vienna 25% go?