10 years of brewing, first stuck mash? first dumper ever

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

badmajon

Reaction score
I'm so irritated right now. I've been brewing for 10 years. I started out doing the usual thing with a cooler, fill cooler with hot water, rinse twice... I did that for 5 years then switched to a DIY RIMS BIAB system.

I finally got sick of shredding bags and the horribly low efficiency (I know some swear by it but I only got 70% on a good day) so I thought to myself, hey, I will try fly sparging with my old cooler. So I built a fly sparge system out of copper tubing and then I filled the whole thing up with water... it worked! Success.

Then came brew day.

100% pilsner malt was the grain bill. It all worked well for about 10 minutes. I throttled down the flow into the cooler to not exceed the outflow into the kettle (remember its a rims system so it's supposed to circulate between kettle and cooler). Sweet... right? Then the water exiting the cooler slowed to a trickle. Then nothing.

I'm using a 10 gallon igloo cooler with a perforated stainless steel false bottom as my mash tun.

I turned off the pump, started sucking on the outflow from the cooler. Bubbles. Just tons of bubbles and air. Stirred more. Still a gurgling sound. Cooler is full of grain and hot water. Tried stirring. Nothing. Tons of $$#%$ bubbles. Like sucking on a straw when you run out of soda, and all you got in the cup is ice.

This sounds dumb coming from a guy who has been brewing for 10 years, but is this a stuck mash? I always figured STUCK meant that it was jammed, but no, there was just tons of bubbles.