STC 1000 Vintage Kegerator Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mabowden

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Long time lurker and now my account is active so I can do some posts! I'm in the middle of a complete vintage kegerator rebuild, which I will post pictures of when finished, but I am at a roadblock.

I have basic electrical experience, but I just want to make sure I am wiring the STC-1000 correctly in place of the old thermostat that was in the fridge. Here are my crappy diagrams (excuse my MSPaint Skills):

4XmEWih.png

nr3NZ3Q.png

Is this correct? Also if I wanted to add a fan inside the fridge would it be correct that I would want to wire it to line C, which appears to be the constant line?

I understand electrical work can be dangerous, and if I can't figure this out- I will consult a vintage appliance repair that is not too far from me. I just want to see if there is anyone that might have more experience on the boards here.

No your drawing isnt right.
How is original fridge plug was wired? Could youalso make a pictures of your thermostat?

SH6Sbve.jpg

Here is the junction that leads out to the 110V plug. It also shows original lines A,B,C running up to the thermostat.
ShWTBEI.jpg

This is the cut that runs out to the door light and door light switch (I labeled this line A in the diagram.
an20vSi.jpg

Original thermostat. On the diagram lines A+C join together on the top connection. Line B connected to the bottom connection then ran down to the compressor.
skmLfXL.jpg

This is the box (relay?) that line B runs from the original thermostat to here.
irNiSUs.jpg

Two wires run from the relay into the compressor, and then a black wire (which will be labeled Wire D on my new diagram) runs from the compressor, back out to the 110V plug.