Minimum Woodwork Experience Keezer Project

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ksanz

Reaction score
So My dad was really into woodworking and so I have a decent amount of tools but I don't have much experience using them. But after Reading Jester's Keezer build I just knew I had to give it a shot.

Here is the plan of the finished product. I am an engineer so luckily this part was easy and should give me a good road map. I made this in Autodesk Inventor, not Google Sketch up (In case people were going to ask for the sketchup file)
stage2.jpg

So here goes nothing.

START:

I bough the Keezer used off Craigslist for $125. It's a little rusty but I think it should be ok since I plan on covering up all of the outside anyways.
2012-03-16_20-18-55_620.jpg

First, removed the inside of the lid and the insulation by popping off the little pins that held it on.
2012-03-16_20-19-30_660.jpg

The pins
2012-03-16_20-19-48_121.jpg

Then I removed the handle so it didnt stick up off the top. I'd seen some people leave it on and cut out a place for it, but I figured this would be easier.
2012-03-16_20-22-06_76.jpg

Next I cut a piece of 1/4" plywood to cover the top and attached it using 5 Tee-nuts bolted from the bottom.
2012-03-16_23-59-36_179.jpg

Unfortunately I work out of town most of the week so progress on this may be a little slow but I am going to try to have it done by the end of next month. (we'll see how THAT goes...) Wish me luck!

Next step didn't really need to be done yet as I don't intend on working on the shell for the base yet but i figured it would me move it around the garage. I used some 2x6s and casters to make a simple frame. I left 1.5 in on the two sides and the front so I can attach 2x4s flush to build the frame from.