Water Chemistry for Stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rickyn06

Reaction score
I am making a stout base beer for a peanut butter stout I am making, and was curious if my water chemistry looked ok.

Beer:
12# 2 row
1# chocolate malt
12 oz Crystal 120
12 oz flaked oats
8 oz roasted barely

I will be using all RO or distilled water, and I used EZ water 3.0 for the first time.

I know I need to get minerals in the mash water for good conversion, flavor and yeast activity.

additions to 5.6 gal of mash water:
1.25 g Gypsum
3g Ca Chloride
2.5g Epsom Salt
2.5g baking soda
2g chalk

According to EZ Water:
Ca: 89ppm
Mg: 11ppm
Na: 32ppm
Cl: 68ppm
Sulfate: 79ppm
Cl/Sulfate ratio: .87

Do those additions seem reasonable? This is my first time with water additions. I also have starsan 5.2 if i need to adjust the mash pH.

Thanks.

Your over ppm look good, but what does it calculate your overall mash pH at? If it happens to drop too low, you can save either the gypsum addition, CaCl addition, or both from the mash and add everything to the boil. This way you still get the desired profile, and you also keep mash pH in a reasonable range.

Edit: I typically use just gypsum and CaCl for mineral additions. Should be enough Mg in the grains to where you shouldn't have to supplement it. And by possibly dropping gypsum and CaCl in the mash, you can avoid chalk additions

Why are you using all RO? Is this an experiment? I think using some tap water would make the mineral additions easier.

Dump the chalk. It doesn't dissolve readily short of heroic measures.

I am making a stout base beer for a peanut butter stout I am making, and was curious if my water chemistry looked ok.

I will be using all RO or distilled water, and I used EZ water 3.0 for the first time.