My New Hybrid e-HERMS BIAB setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdhranek

Reaction score
I have been perusing the HomeBrewTalk forum for a few months now collecting equipment ideas, recipe advice, etc. Since I just finished my shiny new brewing setup, I figured it was long since time to become a member and support the forum that has been a goldmine of advice and project ideas.

So a quick run down of my new system...It is a Brew in the Bag setup that uses my old brew pot as a Hot Liquor Tank/HERMS pot. My brew kettle is a Blichmann 10 gal Boilermaker with a false bottom. Pushing everything around is a Chugger pump with a stainless steel pump head. Everything runs through silicone tubing with camlock quick disconnects all around. I re-purposed my old 3/8" copper immersion chiller as my HERMS coil, so I purchased a DUDA Diesel 20 plate-plate chiller to cool things off.

I built my own control panel with ideas heavily borrowed from theelectricbrewery.com and the forum. It has an Auber syl-2352 PID controlling an Auber 25 amp Solid State Relay. I also added an Auber Multi-Event Timer that was specifically designed for beer brewing.

I purchased a Bayou Classic B300 crab cooker/steamer basket to hold all my grains and make sparging easier. I also put together an extra long hose with a quick disconnect for filling pots and racking to my Carboy.

Complete Setup.jpg

Control Panel in operation.jpg

Grain basket.jpg

Extra long hose to fill carboy.jpg

The control panel is probably a little bigger than it needs to be, but this is my first attempt at wiring anything more complicated than a light switch. So I figured more space would give me a better chance of success.