You've all got one. Show us yours !!!!

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

david_42

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2005
Messages
25,582
Reaction score
182
Location
Oak Grove
My first personal computer, 1979, built from a kit.

S-100 bus, 48KB RAM, 2MHz 8-bit Z-80, paper tape and 8-inch floppy. Running MPM, 4-user system.



My current system has morphed over the nine years I've had it, but it's based on a 1999 vintage dual Celeron ABIT. Time for another upgrade.
 

CBBaron

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2007
Messages
2,780
Reaction score
21
Location
Cleveland
Nothing interesting there now. Just a couple of inexpensive laptops.
However at one time I had an Alpha 21164 PC running Linux and Windows. Pretty cool at the time. I worked for DEC at the time and we were able to get some boards designed for aftermarket and a couple of processors. After buying the components necessary to build the machine including the special memory required there was not much savings but the machines were fast for the time. No pictures unfortunately.

We called the processor the Frankenstein chip because it had a couple of bolts sticking out of the case to attach the heat sink to.



Craig
 
OP
Orfy

Orfy

For the love of beer!
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
11,732
Reaction score
117
Location
Cheshire, England
okay, if we are going retro.

I had these two.
the z80 was given to me by my uncle and my mum bought me the zx81.



then a spectrum
acorn
BBC
Vic 16
C64
DOS PC machines
the Windows
A Texas something along the ways as well
 

ohiobrewtus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
7,762
Reaction score
72
Location
Ohio
I've got this at the office:



then the same tower at home except it's blue. This laptop to go back and forth:





and 24" both at home and at work.
 

GilaMinumBeer

Half-fast Prattlarian
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,437
Reaction score
10,792
My first was a TI-994a. Hated it! Basic programming and no hard drive. The cartridge games for it were crap too.

From then on it's been mass produced, box kit systems. Don't need much pc to check HBT.:cross:
 

k1v1116

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2008
Messages
968
Reaction score
8
This is my PC, its old by todays standards but still works well. I would have a much nicer system but I blew my electronics budget on brewing supplies:D

Pentium 4 3.2Ghz LGA775
Abit AW8-Max intel 955X chipset
1GB DDR2 533 ram
Nvidia Geforce 8600GT 256mb
Realtek HD 7.1 onboard sound
WinTv HVR-1800 tv capture card
WD 36gb 10,000rpm with Gentoo
WD 320gb 7200rpm sata2 with windows xp



EDIT: my first PC was an IBM XT, something like this
 
OP
Orfy

Orfy

For the love of beer!
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
11,732
Reaction score
117
Location
Cheshire, England
Unfortunately I have to use 3 at the office.

One desk(floor) Top. main use.
One desktop for programming kit
One desktop (remote) on another site because of crap network and software issues.

And our IT guys wonder why I'm top of the IT call logger list.


Ed, I had one like that.

It was a "Luggable"

 

s3n8

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2008
Messages
1,170
Reaction score
8
Location
Haymarket VA
Nothing interesting there now. Just a couple of inexpensive laptops.
However at one time I had an Alpha 21164 PC running Linux and Windows. Pretty cool at the time. I worked for DEC at the time and we were able to get some boards designed for aftermarket and a couple of processors. After buying the components necessary to build the machine including the special memory required there was not much savings but the machines were fast for the time. No pictures unfortunately.

We called the processor the Frankenstein chip because it had a couple of bolts sticking out of the case to attach the heat sink to.



Craig
Nice!!! Glad to see there are a few other people out there that got to experience a speedy system 5 years before the rest of the world. I had an Alpha 266 (21264 IIRC) that ran Redhat 5. My windows slowstation at work was a P75 I think. Windows 3.1 was a POS.

I had a screensaver rom distributed.net that cracked DES keys loaded on a couple windows boxes and one Alpha running Linux. The Alpha cranked out 20x the number of blocks as the pentium.

On a side note, I was just out in Sunnyvale for work last week and went to the computer history museum. It was pretty cool, but by far the neatest thing was a working model of babbages difference engine. I happened to walk in just as a guided tour started. What an incredible piece of machinery.

Edit: Watch the video here... Awesome

http://www.computerhistory.org/babbage/
 

GilaMinumBeer

Half-fast Prattlarian
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,437
Reaction score
10,792
Unfortunately I have to use 3 at the office.

One desk(floor) Top. main use.
One desktop for programming kit
One desktop (remote) on another site because of crap network and software issues.

And our IT guys wonder why I'm top of the IT call logger list.


Ed, I had one like that.

It was a "Luggable"

I had the more compact version "The CoCo" but it does remind me of the old Goldline TEF10's from a few years back.



also "luggable".
 

Chriso

Broken Robot Brewing Co.
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
4,619
Reaction score
88
Location
Someplace
SWMBO and I each have one of these, Mine is named Jezebel:

Hers is 2.16ghz/120gb/2gb, mine is 2.2ghz/120gb/2gb.
I also have a 17" G5 iMac upstairs in my bedroom, he's named Dante.

This is Odin.

He's an Athlon 64 X2, 2gb RAM, and 750gb hdd space. He's my media server.

And then this is Duolith. He's at home right now, I can't take a pic. But this is the case he's in.

He's an Athlon 64 X2 4700+, 2gb ram, 512mb Radeon X1650 Pro, and a 160gb sata drive.

Finally, this is Randal, my work computer.

2x 2.66GHz Xeon, 5 GB ram, 1.5 TB disk space. No Apple Cinema display here, I don't like 'em. Instead a 20" Sharp and a 24" Widescreen Samsung lcd monitor.
 

Arkador

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
1,700
Reaction score
20
Location
Fort Worth, TX
Swmbo and I both have a Dell INspron E581 with 4GB ram and a Dualcore 2.4Ghz AMD
Mine is \\Tab-A and hers is \\Slot-B

We also have my old 2Ghz AMD machine in a HDPC chassi connected to the 54inch LCD TV with a 500GB external drive that i download movies to.
 

GilaMinumBeer

Half-fast Prattlarian
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,437
Reaction score
10,792
Just recently got a HP Pavillion Elite. A decent machine out of the box to which I maxed out the RAM to 8GB.

All of which is useless thanks to Vista 64 bit. For the first few days I thought "whats all the fuss" and then I finally had all of my applications on it and now it runs backwards in time.
 

TwoHeadsBrewing

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
3,949
Reaction score
52
Location
Chico, CA

Chriso

Broken Robot Brewing Co.
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
4,619
Reaction score
88
Location
Someplace
Finally, this is Randal, my work computer.

2x 2.66GHz Xeon, 5 GB ram, 1.5 TB disk space.
Just an update, because I have nothing better to post about. :p

Replaced Randal with a new Mac Pro. Well.... Am replacing. It is here, but I haven't set it up, the past month has been too busy to work on my own projects. The New one is an 8 core, 8gb RAM, Nvidia GT120 graphics, and a 640gb hd. I'll be moving the other 500gb drives over as well. I have not yet named it. I am thinking I might name it Bodhisatva though, after the elephant from The Love Guru.
 

brrman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
1,654
Reaction score
103
Location
Indianapolis, IN
I have all the usuals... HP laptop, tower system I recently built... but my fav is the touchscreen computer at my bar:





 

Ice9

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
453
Reaction score
4
Location
Fort Wayne, IN
Here's what I've got at home. I'll have to snag a pic of my desk at work.

imac.jpg
 

Zen_Brew

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
1,851
Reaction score
26
Location
Seattle
I use an Thinkpad T42 with 2 gigs of ram that I mostly troll around the house with. When I want some real estate though I dock it and drive 3 monitors with it.

 

bendavanza

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2008
Messages
2,184
Reaction score
22
Location
Oak CLiff, TX
My first was a Vic 20, then a C64, an Atari (with a mouse) and then a custom built PC around when Windows 95 came out. A few more years I messed with PC's at home and Macs at work, but when OSX was announced I went for Macs at home. Been through a few powerbooks, g4 towers, now I have a g5 dual 2 tower which I don't use much and a new 17" unibody Macbook pro 2.66ghz core 2 duo. I love the macbook pro! 4gb ram, led backlit 1900x1200 matte display, and I could run windoze if I want to.
cheers
 

Rick500

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
2,599
Reaction score
21
Location
KY
Very similar to my story -- Vic 20, C64, Amiga 500, then a series of home-built PCs starting with a 286, then (from work) Compaq laptop, then a series of ThinkPads.
 

Pabst Blue Robot

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2005
Messages
453
Reaction score
8
Location
Puyallup, WA
My first PC was a Kaypro 10 running CP/M. The 10mb hard disk made it a Cadillac in its day. It was called Darth Vader's lunch box.

 

MBasile

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2009
Messages
1,574
Reaction score
31
Location
Austin
Post our PC? Looks like I can't participate as I'm using a lil' ol' MacBook (frst generateion 2 GHz Core Duo with 2 GB of ram
 

PortageeExpress

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2008
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
I recently had to retire this one:


Yes, that's duct tape, a binder clip, a cloth picture hanger, and some wire. (All necessary after the hinge broke.)
 
Top