Yet another kegging question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RoughandReadyRanch

Reaction score
Ok, so here we go. I got three kegs for my b-day with a 10lb CO2 tank. I am excited. I am new to all of this and my first beer was infected prior to bottling so imagine my relief when beer two tasted ok after 3 weeks of primary. I need to keg this beer now as I have no ambition or time to bottle due to summer school and family obligations. Wife is expecting and we are not quite ready for the keezer. I have been using a regular fridge as a fermenting fridge due to heat and was hoping to knock out another 2 beers to fill the remaining kegs prior to Jr showing up in October. So here is the question. Can I keg the first beer and put pressure on it for a week, enjoy a few pulls, then put the fermentation fridge back to 65-70'F for my next batch without fear of loosing suspension of CO2 on the keg? If this is an impossible issue then I was thinking my other option is to just put a slight CO2 head on the keg and leave it in the fermenting fridge for the remainder of the next beer. The problem then becomes I will run out of room before the 3rd batch! We are looking at 106'F this weekend and I need to know what is going to happen if I keg this porter and leave it out of the fridge in an 80-90'F house? We are cheapskates so the AC doesn't get much play. Fermentation is all but done after 1month I would assume so are off flavors due to heat an issue anymore? Any advice is greatly appreciated and thank you in advance. Sorry for the long story. ~Dan

RoughandReadyRanch said: