Yeast made a think mat out of trub

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

interplexr

Reaction score
I'm in the process of fermenting an AG batch and was a little impatient with my attempts at seperating the trub before siphoning to my primary... I chilled the wort with my newly made IC down to about 60 degF (just under 5 minutes) and then got a good whirlpool going with a spoon. I haven't ever cooled this fast so I think I ended up with a lot more break material than I'm used to. I'm new to AG too so I'm not sure if I got more break material from that as well.

I only let it set about 5 minutes after I whirlpooled and siphoned off what I thought was clear. It looked clear at the top but the near the bottom was apparently not settled yet. There was a good layer of trub settled on the bottom of my primary until the yeast really got going and the whole thing floated up to the top where it has pretty much stayed.

Will this sink on down to the bottom eventually? I'm just not used to such a huge pile of crud up in the kraeusen. I'm more worried because the last batch had a similar thick mat which didn't want to settle down after a week even with my SG down to what I expected and I didn't have as much trub when it started.

Welcome to HBT!

Yes, it will all settle to the bottom. I don't bother siphoning or screening anything, just dump the whole pot into the fermenter and let it go to town.

If you let it sit long enough for your yeast to finish its job, it will be a nice compact layer on the bottom. At one week your yeast has'nt begun its job of cleaning up off flavors after fermentation.

I leave all my beers in the primary for at least four weeks so it's clean tasting and crystal clear.