Yeast biodiversity... a good or bad thing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wbrian

Reaction score
Hi All!
I'm fairly new to the mead making realm. I've made many wines (most putrid). In wine-making, we strive to sterilize a must and then inoculate it with a single strain of yeast. I see, in meads, a similar practice. I got to thinking, is there a harm in having more than one type of yeast present?
The reason I ask is this. About 10 pounds of my fall honey has started to ferment, ever so slightly. So I am using that for mead making. I am ready to add in a starter I, well started, yesterday. Its roaring along under airlock in Mason jars on honey, water blackberry and blueberry skins and squeezed fruit. There's about a quart of starter at this point. Will the natural yeast in the honey survive? Outcompete? Die?
Do varying strains of yeasts do anything for flavor diversity?
Any insight provided will be appreciated. I'm new and learning.
Thanks a lot!
Brian

Recipe:
7.5# Goldenrod honey (possibly wildly fermenting),
Tea of steeped chopped raisins (handful), black tea, 3 chopped mandarins.
1qt D47 starter in black/blueberry fruit & honey water
RO Water to 3-1/2 gallons.
Starting gravity =1.082

Last edited:
I am a little new at this, but I think I would done the same as you, just to see what would happen. Now you can do it for me!

Another option would have been (I think) to put 3-4 Campden tablets in the must 24 hours before pitching the yeast, hopefully suppressing the wild yeasts. But, seeing it was already fermenting, I don't know.

There are many out there who use wild ferments, apparently with drinkable results. The book, "Making Mead Like a Viking" comes to mind, a good read.