Wyeast 1007 German Ale and clarity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GunnerMan

Reaction score
Ok I am no expert on yeasts so I was browsing Wyeasts site yesterday looking for an ale yeast that would ferment fairly crisp and clean. I am planning on brewing a "Pilsner Ale," I have a friend who loves Pils but I don't have the means to lager so I want to see if I can get in the ballpark with an Ale strain. (I wont give it to him unless it is close, it will be his first home brew and I want him to get into the hobby)

So anyways, I concluded the German Ale at about 60-62 f would produce a good 'knockoff' but the flocculation is next to none, what can I do to get the yeast to fall out of suspension? I was looking at clarifiers but I wasint sure which one might work.

I think, for a beer like this, that the look is very important in the perception of the beer. I don't have a secondary, but will invest in one if it is the best route to clearing this beer.

You should be trying a dry yeast like S-05.

This will make what you after... I guarantee!

If you use pilsner malt boil your wort for 90 minutes to remove all traces of DMS. Add hops at 60 or whatever the schedule calls for on the recipe.

http://www.northernbrewer.com/dried-yeast.html

Y014 Safale US-05

A dried American Ale strain with fermentation properties resembling that of Wyeast 1056 (American Ale) or White Labs WLP001 (California Ale). Produces well-balanced beers with low diacetyl and a very clean, crisp palate. Sedimentation is low to medium, and final gravity is medium. Optimum temp: 59°-75° F

safale-us56.jpg