Wort chillers expensive, and DIY moreso!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paradigm

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
A good wort chiller runs from $60-$100+ (plenty more than $100, none less than $60), and 3/8" copper tubing is around $2.19/ft! Needing 25-50' of tubing, a garden hose, clamps, etc, you're looking at a $100+ DIY project anyway!

While I know we're all a fan of DIY projects (if we weren't, why would we be here :mug:), is the extra $$$ worth the satisfaction of doing it yourself? Is there a cheap way to make one? I'm a poor ass college student, if I could get away with a wort chiller made of dirt, I'd still steal the dirt to make it!

Got any friends in the plumbing or HVAC business? I didn't end up with 25' but I got enough to make it work. I also put it in a tub of water to help the outside cool while the IC worked the inside. Only paid for the clamps and tubing.

You've really got to compare apples to apples. If you're going to price out the cost of 50 feet of 3/8" OD copper tubing, make sure the commercially available wort chiller you're talking about is also 50 feet of 3/8" copper. It's true that due to the rising cost of raw copper that some homebrew shops will fail to adjust their pricing and sell the finished product at a discount. If you're willing to spend time price shopping for the cheapest finished IC, spend equal time finding the best raw materials pricing.

Just a quick 30 second comparison to illustrate my point. Homebrewstuff has a 3/8" x 50' with cheap vinyl tubing and one garden hose connector for $81 plus shipping. Coppertubingsales.com has the same copper for $40. Add $3 worth of tubing and a $5 GH barb and you're at $48 plus whatever shipping for the coil.